4:30 or Bust: A Quest for Marathon Mediocrity

Time to think about your technology

with 3 comments

Year end / year begin is always a great time to draw a line in the sand.  It provides a natural marker for measuring what we’ve done, or to compare our efforts from year to year.

It was 11 years ago today, 12/26/1998, when I started my running log, and I just love the ability to go back and see what I did in prior years.  The genius about starting just before the new year is that I had the complete statistics for year 1, or 1999.  It was far from a stellar year, logging only 350 miles, taking virtually the entire summer off, but I have it, in full, and can look back and remember it in its entirety.

About a year ago, I discovered DailyMile.  My first posted workout was on 12/28.  And since I was using it on 1/1, I also have a full year of statistics available to me on the platform.  So, when I get ready to write my obligatory year in review post later on this week, I’ll be able to use the site to get a full picture of what I did over the last year, and probably include some screen shots of their graphical analysis tools.

Just recently, I discovered RunKeeper.  The jury is still out on RunKeeper as I’m trying to figure out how well it is going to work for me.  For example, the GPS on the iPhone leaves a lot to be desired, so my distances on RunKeeper are usually not right.  But, so far I like it, and it looks like a keeper, as it allows me to capture data on pace and elevation that I can’t really get anywhere else.  Again, since I’ll be using it on 1/1, at the end of the year, I’ll be able to use it to get a picture of the full year of 2010.

Just something to think about.  With a fresh start to the year, maybe time to think about the tracking technology you use, so that at the end of the year, when you are ready to look back, that technology has the full picture for you.

Written by SCL

December 26, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Reflections

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On the computer, I use Garmin Connect, which I know a lot of folks complain about, but it’s fine for me (I just want someplace to store my Garmin downloads). I have to say, though, I don’t think I will ever give up my oldfashioned notebook-style training log. I get such a tingle of excitement when I open a new one, write in my name and goals, and then begin a new page, week in and week out.

    TK

    December 27, 2009 at 11:41 am

    • For some reason, notebook style diaries or journals never work for me. I’m also a tech nerd – I even used to track my baseball cards on a computer when I was a kid, so the tech route works best for me.

      On the other hand, my wife is a journal fiend, and I’m sure if she was a runner, she’d have a notebook style log, but for me, it just doesn’t work.

      SCL

      December 27, 2009 at 2:16 pm

  2. I think I am becoming a tech nerd as well. Well I am a nerd, so just add the garmin into the equation. I too use Garmin Connect. For me, it suits my needs. Gives me everything from calories burned to mile splits to pace. What else is there really? :O) Oh and elevation charts too. Like I run hills right?

    michjoy61

    December 27, 2009 at 6:23 pm


Leave a comment