4:30 or Bust: A Quest for Marathon Mediocrity

27 Days to the Chicago Marathon

leave a comment »

27 days to the Chicago Marathon, and the time for procrastination is past.  These are the last 2 weeks for hard training before 2 weeks of taper.  Time to get some good quality miles in…

I’m impressed that I’ve been able to do 2 runs in the 16 or so hours since I wrote the last post.  Last night I ran 5.7 miles over the Williamsburg Bridge and back.  It was a great run, at about 9 pace!  Then this morning I went out early and run down to the bottom of East River Park and back.  4 miles at about 9:35 pace.  I’m really thankful that the next large section of the promenade is open in ERP, so that it is more runnable after rains…

Several of my Manhattan street runs go down 1st Ave, from where I live at 14th St.  In the last 2 months, a new bike lane has been installed on 1st Ave, from Houston St up to 34th.  This is great and fantastic news for bikers, and makes things much safer for runners.  However, after running on the path a few times, I think I’m going to opt to run on the bike lane down Ave A instead.  The 1st Ave bike lane, on the west side of the street, and right next to the curb (protected from car traffic) has a lot more cross traffic than  on the east side of the Ave, where I used to run.  And the protected nature of the lane makes it harder to go out and ‘use the avenue’ when necessary.  The Ave A bike line is perfectly fine for running, and I used it last night to head down to the bridge.  The only issue is that it cuts .1 – .2 miles off of my previous routes, but I can deal with that. 🙂

Speaking of bike lanes, I found another new one last night!  I generally use Suffolk St off the Williamsburg Bridge, which now has a bike lane, going up to Houston St!  I love this town…

Previous Entries

28 Days to the Chicago Marathon

Written by SCL

September 13, 2010 at 6:19 am

Leave a comment