4:30 or Bust: A Quest for Marathon Mediocrity

25 Days to the Chicago Marathon

with 3 comments

25 days to the Chicago Marathon!  Writing daily posts is actually going a long way to keeping me thinking about my training and making the extra effort to get my workouts in.

After not making it to the gym to swim yesterday morning, I did make it last night.  My gym has open swimming from 8-9:30.  I went about 8:45, thinking it would start to empty out, but that was not the case.  All lanes were used, and I struggled in the ‘slow’ lane along with some others.  My last swim was at the NJ State tri in late July, at least 6 weeks ago.  So, a lot of rust on my already sad skills.  Just did 600 meters, and now need to get to the pool twice a week leading up to my tri in Red Bank on 10/3.

Then, this morning, not only got up early to get my run in, but extended my normal morning run to 7 miles.  In the morning, I typically run 4-5.5, but this is the time to start pushing.  I was definitely feeling a little off kilter after softball Monday and swimming yesterday, 2 activities I had not done in a while.  After getting good and warmed up in the first few miles, I really hit my stride heading down 1st Ave (in the new bike lane), and ran at a nice hard effort to finish up.  The last 2 miles were under 19 minutes, which is faster than I have been running lately on those same 2 miles in recent morning workouts in East River Park.  I love the symmetry of the route today.  Nice looking loop, and looks like a mini model of NYC. – http://www.dailymile.com/routes/273674-running-route-in-new-york-ny

Undecided about tomorrow.  I want to make sure I’m well-rested for the 18 mile race on Sunday, which will be 20 for me as I will add 2 miles at the start.  Not sure if I will take tomorrow off and run Friday, or run tomorrow and take off Friday.  Either way, I’d like 2 running days off before Sunday.  I’m thinking I might do a light bike ride tomorrow and run on Friday.  We will see…

Previous entries:

26 27 28

Written by SCL

September 15, 2010 at 11:05 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. im having issues figuring out when to run next (besdies tomorrow) because of running sunday vs. saturday. at least in my case i get to pent up on routine!

    jen

    September 15, 2010 at 11:50 am

  2. I had no idea you could map routes on DM! Great discovery. Cool route too – never occurred to me to run on 1st.

    Sara Grace

    September 16, 2010 at 7:20 am

    • The bike lanes are the way to go! On 1st, it is from 34th to Houston, and even below Houston, on Allen, bike lane (both directions) goes all the way to the river. Bike lane also just painted on 2nd Ave too, from 34th all the way down to Houston.

      SCL

      September 16, 2010 at 7:43 am


Leave a comment