4:30 or Bust: A Quest for Marathon Mediocrity

23 Days to the Chicago Marathon

leave a comment »

23 days to the Chicago Marathon!  And I biffed another workout…  The story of my summer.

We’ll start with the good.  Yesterday afternoon, I did have a great session with my personal trainer.  Personal training is definitely NOT a part of my normal training, but this year I decided to invest, and let me tell you it is quite an investment, in 11 sessions with a trainer.  I’m seeing the guy who helped me a few years ago when I messed up my back and got frustrated and wanted to strengthen my core.  Earlier this year I was having some nagging injuries and I thought it would be a good idea to have an ‘expert’ help me out with core, some strength workouts, and my training in general.  I’m now down to my last few sessions, but it coincides well with my marathon training!

That was yesterday afternoon.  This morning, I was to go out and do an easy 4-5 mile run, so I could just get some miles in, and stay sharp for the 20 planned on Sunday.  This morning not only did I not want to get up at 5am, but I just did not feel like dealing with the weather conditions.  While the temps were in the 60’s, it was super humid, and the dewpoint was 65.  I could not handle the flashback to summer, and really just did not feel like dealing with it.  If the day was nice, I would have dragged myself out of bed, but for the humid weather, I refused.  Instead, I slept till 6:30 (WOW, that is late for me for a weekday), and will just write-off the missed miles.

In addition to my obvious trip to to Chicago for 10/10, I found out today that I might need to go for work in early November!

Also, lots of good news today for my wife, and if she is happy, I’m happy, and so it is a very good day, despite the work emergencies I’ve just wrapped up dealing with.  Time for lunch…

Previous Entries: 24  25  26  27  28

Written by SCL

September 17, 2010 at 11:40 am

Posted in Chicago Marathon

Leave a comment