4:30 or Bust: A Quest for Marathon Mediocrity

10 Days to the Chicago Marathon

leave a comment »

10 days to the Chicago Marathon!  And I got another late run in, pushing the distance up to 7.9 miles.  It felt good.  I didn’t feel like I would be able to go another 18.3 miles, but I’m sure on race day in Chicago it will not be nearly as windy or as humid.  At least I hope not.  NYC was super humid and super windy today, and my run route took me down the East River, into the wind, and then back up the East River, with the wind.  With a temp of 74 and dewpoint of 74, it was very very very humid and uncomfortable.  I had a bottle of Powerade with me that I drank about every 2 miles.

All in all, I’m very pleased with my week, after suffering a back spasm last Friday.  I ran 4 times since Sunday, for 22.5 miles.  And, if I do an easy run Sat, and the 5 miles required by my triathlon on Sunday, I’ll have 27 miles for this week, easily my highest week in my marathon training where there were no long run.  Then I’ll be satisfied to taper in the last week before the race.

This week was made tougher both because I attended a conference in NYC the last couple of days, meaning long days, lavish dinners, and poor eating all around.  The other challenge this week is that my wife left yesterday to San Francisco for the weekend and won’t be back until Monday.  So I carefully need to plan my workouts around my kids’ schedules.  I can leave them alone together, but I cannot leave Katie alone.  I also cannot go out in the mornings.  So, will make the most of what I can this week.

Hardest part of today’s run was heartburn and a bit of a side stich early on, from my poor eating habits today.  In addition to the too much soda, and generally bad eating, I had taken Katie out for pizza tonight and had a slice myself.  I thought I was OK to run, but the heartburn came right away at the start of the run, but did fade away to annoyance by the 3rd mile.

I was chatting today at the conference with someone I know from Chicago, and it turned out she ran the marathon last year.  That was nice, and inspiring!

Previous Entries:  11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Written by SCL

September 30, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Leave a comment